If tomorrow never comes
I love you

If tomorrow never comes
I gave today all I had

If tomorrow never comes
I thought well of you

If tomorrow never comes
I’ve only been honest

If tomorrow never comes
Each embrace left it’s imprint in me

If tomorrow never comes
And if I smiled, it was sincere

It tomorrow never comes
Loving you made me a better me

If tomorrow never comes
I am living a dream

If tomorrow never comes
Hope never left me

If tomorrow never comes
Each kiss sent me to a different time

If tomorrow never comes
Your existence with me changed my life

If tomorrow never comes
You are a World to me

If tomorrow never comes
Your love gave me freedom

If tomorrow never comes
Gratitude has been most sought

If tomorrow never comes
My tears for you are forgiven

If tomorrow never comes
I owe you for the small miracles

If tomorrow never comes
Making love to you, with you, was a privilege

If tomorrow never comes
I will wait for you
I will look for you

If tomorrow never comes
Look for me in someplace else
In someone else
In power
In peace.

This piece is reborn, birthed in 2008. Nothing is ever complete for the writer in me. This piece comes to life in the spirit of all who have been taken at the hands of the police. While we all suffer, debate, accuse, yell, curse, scream, rebel, and march in streets in power, grief, peace, and pain, all of these people have left people behind who loved them immensely. We all have people that we belong to, hopefully. This piece was reborn to bring a sense of peace to all the intimate relationships left in the wake of murder by those who neglected to inform all that justice wasn’t for all. For one, from one that needs healing.

