i am the tree / longstanding / stubborn with change / roots far and wide / too strong to cut / too long to dig out / bark exposing the eons of my existence / withstanding famines /fires passed me by / i am nature / the stars are my peace / waters are my mothers / sun is nourishment / moon is my hope / dead leaves are the ones that we remember/ we grow / my ancestors are in everything / surrounding me with humility /with strength / to grow more roots / to bear more leaves / to shine / to bear fruit / remind them of “them” / always present / ever constant /soul comforts / consistently consistent / firmly planted / during droughts / hurricanes / tornadoes / floods / they remain / i remain / clinging /foundation undisturbed / but they need more paper / only a stump of former strength remains/ an erasure / until my roots begin another me / another me / another me…

