the sun shining on your skin
reminds me
i could love you forever

because,
i stood in line to wear your name
because,
you held the pieces of me together when i didn’t make sense

because,
my blackness didn’t scare you
your blackness didn’t scare you
you put us in a bigger frame

because, 
i was prepared to melt into you each and every night

because,
you tasted my rare fruit
until you craved my acquired taste
in the rising sun on my skin

because,
you saw my dimensions
mastered maze travel
survived my black holes

because,
i didn’t give you my heart
i cut myself
bled right onto us
because,
you are no regret of mine
because,
i still believe you deserve
love
even if it is bigger than mine

because,
i can’t be the one to take your laugh
when your laugh is the part
i’ve missed most

because,
i can’t turn you gray
life is for the living
life is for shining

because, 
i rather be your friend 
forever
than your sometimes
lover

because,
LOVE IS A FREE THING
LOVE IS NOT OPPRESSION
LOVE IS NOT CONTROL
LOVE IS FREEDOM

because,
i love you
more than i knew how to love myself
at times
i loved myself
because,
i loved you

because,
the kids ought to see smiles
peace

because,
we ought to be the change
we need

because,
i want to stand by your side
in support
one day
as you have decided
to let another
wear your name

because, 
maybe, we’ve only been a moment
out of moments
not out of love
out of moments

because,
it’s not you
it’s not me
our friendship
is like the sun
that i wait to see
rise

because,
i respect you
i respect me
and WE ARE made
for more than us

because,
i’m learning to share
my love,
you don’t hold on to hearts
you free them
to roam
wherever they may

because,
it was all worth it
i wouldn’t do it over
i wouldn’t do it differently
i’d do it the same
to call you friend

because,
the sun shining on your skin
makes me want to love you forever
in a wider capacity

because,
mates. life partners. spouses.
that’s limiting
we’ve been limited
to love only one way
when love is more glorious
when love is the sun
shining on our skin
nothing less

because,
our friendship
has been radiant
a pulse
giving me life

because,
we are just beautiful butterflies
maybe cocoon buddies
and we’ll be migrations
in lovely colors
in flight

because,
i see us growing old together
and maybe we’ll just drink lemonade
iced tea
and we’ll be able to laugh
about this
when we did more than laugh
together
and we’ll have rings

because,
we promised forever
maybe, it is in this capacity
we laugh
smile through gray lashes
white hair being tossed by autumn winds
and remember when
in moments
awaking
to the sun shining on your skin
to the sun shining on my skin
thinking about forever
when we tried so hard to hold
us together
at all cost
in tears
forgetting our smiles
forgetting our hearts
forgetting
we’re only here for a moment
forgetting
maybe 
we should enjoy the moment

because,
i don’t want to leave
us
you
it feels like
the sun no longer shines
i love your rays

because,
you are the color purple
i always notice you
in a field

because,
you are my friend
and maybe
we’re just waves
on the waters
in the sunrise

*image captured by walkerj. 2016. lake michigan.*
