13643025944_6c7239858f_z-edited

my existence is mine

light
energy
infinite
love
failure
truth
blackness

i am here
for me
i want me
born for myself
all for myself

i am what i need
all that i am
i am not less
i am not more

i am myself
in moments
i am
wanted
lushly black
sun toasted skin
afrika in my lips
drum beats in my step
formed from my ancestors breaths
i am their grit and heart beat

i am
masculine
feminine
i am
more than body parts
bigger than the skin i’m in

i am wanted
by me

i am here
i am power
i am hope

i am holding
to promises
bigger than myself

i  am breathing
myself
into alternate existences
southern baptist universes
ancestors and diaspora jubilees
new world refugees
shuckin and jivin on ashes
that were once chains
i am breathing us free

i breathe prayers
into the now
into me
my own temple
my own priesthood
i leave sacraments on my lips

i am a walking prayer
i breathe hymns
sifting through the breeze
to soothe
to heal
embracing my pain
not avoiding my pain
i honor the exodus
walk upright into the wilderness
moonbeams light the way
it glides in streams
looks like peace
i wade in
i am saved

we are all hurting
we are all the same

our afterlife was yesterday
our tomorrow is today

i am traveling on the air
through the stars
to the moon
each night
eyes wide awake

to the moon
where i am safe
limitless
free
supported
weightless
unearthed

i am peace
i am here
for me

my existence is mine

*image credit: creative commons*

